How I feel: two weeks after I quit my job to travel

I don’t think there’s any right answer to that.

Excited. Happy. Guilty. Worried. Scared. Curious. Inquisitive. 

All of the above and more.

I had a rejection earlier this week for a job I interviewed for and hoped to go to when I returned. It’s fair to say it hit me hard and I’ve spent this week worrying and over-analysing it to death. Why didn’t they want me? What did I do wrong? Did I really misread how well the interview went?

I still feel like that but it’s alongside the excitement and adrenaline rush I get from all my travels. Not just a new country other a new city but every morning when I leave wherever I’m staying I get a rush of excitement and a bounce in my step that makes me so excited for the day ahead and where it might lead me. Is that weird? Am I the only one who is like that?

I don’t know.

What I do know is that I can’t be completely sad about not getting a job because I’m too happy doing what I’m doing now – exploring Japan and preparing to fly to Hong Kong at the end of this week. But at the same time I’m sad I don’t have a job I love to look forward to.

Sometimes I wish someone would tell me what the right thing is to do. But for now I’m just going to enjoy myself.

6 thoughts on “How I feel: two weeks after I quit my job to travel

  1. Follow your dream and be happy with your decision as life is yours…so get ready with your backpack for your new destinations….and let the people know how beautiful the world is!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

